Support TrueToad by using my Amazon Associate Links

Photography Reviews, and Information

Nikon 58mm f/1.4 G Lens Review

Following several years of using my f/2.8 zooms that covered the 50-60mm range, I finally decided I had enough of the compromise. After doing some testing with 3rd party lenses and doing online research I went ahead and purchased my Nikon 58mm f/1.4 G lens direct from NikonUSA.

Read more...
TrueToad, Sunday, February 20, 2022

Nissin MF18 Ring Flash Review

My main go-to for Macro Photography has been the Nikon awesome RIC1 Macro Flash system.  I decided to step outside the Nikon umbrella and get myself a Ring Flash to go along with my New S 105mm Macro Lens.

Read more...
TrueToad, Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8E FL ED VR Lens Review

This is not a comparison between various 70-200mm lenses 3rd party lens manufacture.  This review is based on my experience using the Nikkor 70-200 ED FL zoom lens from Nikon. My expectations when I made the purchase was very high given the price point.  So, how has this lens performed?

Read more...
TrueToad, Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Nikon Z 6II Review

The New Nikon Z 6II is here and what does it bring to the table?  A lot in the shortest sentence I can type. The Nikon Z 6II is one awesome camera - and did I say it does top-notch video?

Read more...
TrueToad, Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Nikon 500mm F/5.6 PF Lens Review

In August 2018 Nikon announced the release of a compact super telephoto - the 500mm f/5.6E PF ED VR  Making this their second Phase Fresnel lens the first being the awesome 300mm PF PF/4. I am excited to see Nikon introduce this new prime lens at a sub 4k.  Let's run through the technical details as it relates to weight, compactness, and sharpness.  All of which are expected to be superior.

Read more...
TrueToad, Monday, November 2, 2020

Nikon D850 Review

The Nikon D850 camera when release soon became lauded as a game-changing DSLR and now that I have mine let me give you my opinion not that Nikon Mirrorless Z cameras have become widely available.

Read more...
TrueToad, Sunday, November 1, 2020

Nikon Z7 vs Nikon Z7 II Which one to buy?

Nikon Z7 vs Nikon Z7 II: Nikon has made several key improvements to the Nikon Z7 II mirrorless camera by adding a second-generation body that supports dual card slots and a second EXPEED processor.  Now the question is which camera should you buy or should you upgrade you Z7 or DSLR?  Without the techno ramblings, this article is a simplified recommendation.

Read more...
TrueToad, Monday, October 19, 2020

rss_feedRSS